Wednesday, January 12, 2011

Three levels of consciousness

Rachel Pollack Seventy Eight Degrees of Wisdom
As you learn the tarot, you will find that the more you understand the cards the easier it is to get meaning from your readings. As a tarot reader, you will find that understandings of the cards will grow and evolve with time.

One way to look at the Major Arcana cards is as a psychological process, showing stages of our existence to reach a state of full development. In Seventy-Eight Degrees of Wisdom, Rachel Pollack splits the Major Arcana into three layers of seven.

These divisions are the conscious, subconscious, and super subconscious.

Rachel Pollack’s explanation of the three levels and the individual cards is excellent and easy to follow. For both new readers and experienced, this book will give you a better understand of the Major Arcana, or at least a new outlook on the cards.

Throughout the section of her book focused on the Major Arcana, she constantly compares the cards. You may find it helpful to lay out your cards or print out a version of these divisions for easy reference.

Have you read Rachel Pollack’s Seventy-Eight Degrees of Wisdom? Did you feel it moved you to a new level as a reader?


Inner Whispers said...

Hi Cher,

I absolutely adored 78 Degrees of Wisdom, and it is still my "base" reference for most things tarot. Everything I have learned since seems like additional layers, built on the basis of Pollack's ideas.

And I don't think I'm the only one! Barbara Moore was the keynote speaker at TABI's 2010 Conference, and one of her workshops was on doing a personalised Fool's Journey - based on the spread Rachel gave following her explanation of the three levels :-) Barbara added her own very interesting twist to it, but Rachel's wisdom and ideas were clearly foundational.

Best wishes, Chloe

Anonymous said...

Chloe, thanks for commenting. I wish I had got the book long ago, but I'm slow sometimes, lol.